Login / Register

what is new about Taddy Afro Concert?

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


You disliked this video. Thanks for the feedback!

Sorry, only registred users can create playlists.

Added by rahel in Entertainment and arts


what is new about Taddy Afro Concert? on Tadias Addis Radio show.

Teddy Afro lives in a suburb of Addis Ababa. His first album Abugida was released in 2001.

Leza, a radio show on Sheger FM 102.1 hosted by Berhanu Digaffe, has been organizing Leza Awards for seven years now. Recognizing talent by a selection of musicians and filmmakers, it has been one of the platforms where local artistic excellence is celebrated.

The nominations are for different categories in the music and film industry. This year, there were seven categories and a special one for life-time achievement. Winners from each category were recognized on October 12 at a ceremony held at Hilton Addis.

Teddy Afro was nominated in two categories – best single of the year for “Ethiopia” and best album of the year for his hit album “Ethiopia” – and he won in both categories. Though he did not show up at the event, a representative accepted the awards on his behalf, and stated that “he couldn’t make it because he is on a rehearsal. But, he is happy about the awards.”

Nominees for the best album of the year were Dawit Alemayehu’s “Yaltesema”, the late Eyob Mekonnen’s “Erotalehu”, Eden Gebreselassie’s “Wesin”, Bisrat, Kako and Muluken’s “Mengedegna” and Seble Tadesse’s “Yefikir Awaj”.

Similarly, in the best single of the year category, Messay Tefera for “Birknesh”, Yared Negu for “Yayne Marefia”, Getish Mamo for “Tekebel”, Amanuel Yemane for “Me’areye” and Asgegnew Ashko for “Bale Robe” were nominated.

The award for the best movie of the year was bestowed on “Taza” while “Yabedech Yarada Lij 3”, “79”, “Yabetse,” “Bale Guday” and “Me’eraf 2” had been nominated. The director, Kidist Yilma, expressed her gratitude alongside her crew.

The life-time achievement award was given to renowned musician Girma Beyene, who was recently featured in the Ethiopiques series with an album titled “Mistakes on Purpose”.

Meanwhile, the award for the best upcoming artist of the year was granted to Dawit Alemayehu from the talent line-up: Bisrat Surafel, Kako Getachew, Seble Tadesse, Mikyas Kebede and MC Siyamregn. Dawit humbly confessed, “I have seen people receive awards but I never thought I would ever be one of them.”

Bisrat Surafel with his recent hit “Weta Fikir” won in the best video of the year among nominees, MC Siyamregn for “Ho Bel”, Kako Getachew for “Gude”, Mikias Kebede for “Enimechach” and Eden Gebresilassie for “Wesin”.

The best actress of the year was Zeritu Kebede for “Taza” among nominees Selam Tesfaye for “79”, Kalkidan Tibebu for “Me’eraf 2”, Meaza Takele for “Yabetse”, Ameleset Muchie for “Lab Tos” and Helen Bedilu for “Fetesh Agbign”.

Correspondingly, the recognition for the best actor of the year went to Alemseged Tesfaye for “Yabedech Yarada Lij 3” from among nominees, Michael Million for “Bale Guday”, Girum Ermias for “79”, Amanuel Habtamu for “Taza”, Kashun Fisseha for “Maya” and Henock Wondimu for “Yegzer Dildiy”.

Post your comment


Be the first to comment